Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) Award Finalists

2013 Finalists

Eight Texas teachers have been named finalists for the 2013 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). The 2013 awards recognize seventh through twelfth grade mathematics and science teachers whose innovative methods bring teaching to life in the classroom. The Texas finalists in secondary math are Jessica Caviness from Coppell ISD, Amy Ferguson from North East ISD, Penny Smeltzer from Round Rock ISD, and Ruth Westbrook from Denton ISD.

PAEMST is the highest recognition that a mathematics or science teacher may receive for exemplary teaching in the United States. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on the behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. To achieve recognition through this program, a teacher first must be nominated for the award. ;A state panel of master teachers, specialists, and administrators reviewed the applications and chose the most outstanding mathematics and science teachers for the National Science Foundation to consider for state finalist status.

After the initial selection process at the state or territorial level, a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians, and educators may select one mathematics and one science teacher from each state and U.S. jurisdiction for the national award.

National award winners will be announced during the summer of 2014. PAEMST winners receive $10,000, a citation signed by the President of the United States, and a paid trip for two to Washington, D.C. to attend recognition events and professional development opportunities. Texas state finalists are recognized annually by the State Board of Education at their January meeting.

List of Texas Award Winners

To review other past Texas awardees (one is chosen from the finalists), please visit our list of PAEMST winners. Or search PAEMST list of winners from all states at