Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) Award Winners

2012 Winner: Wendy Hendry

Wendy Hendry has been an educator for 17 years and has spent the last 14 years teaching kindergarten at Bransford Elementary School in the Grapevine-Colleyville Independent School District. Prior to teaching kindergarten, Wendy taught second grade at Dove Elementary School in the Grapevine-Colleyville Independent School District.

Wendy's commitment to teaching mathematics goes beyond the classroom. She is a member of the district's Kindergarten Curriculum Vertical Math Team, which works to align kindergarten mathematical standards. Wendy attends many in-service trainings, book studies, and other professional development activities. Her professional learning has included training in gifted and talented instruction, Cognitively Guided Instruction, and project-based learning.

In teaching young children, Wendy is an advocate for developing a strong foundation in number sense through problem solving and critical thinking. Instilling a love of mathematics in her students through authentic and engaging activities is one of her passions.

Wendy has a B.S., magna cum laude, in interdisciplinary studies from the University of North Texas. She is certified in kindergarten through sixth grade elementary education with an early childhood endorsement. She is also certified in English as a second language.

List of Award Winners

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) have been the Nation's highest honors for teachers of mathematics and science. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education. 

Dixie Ross was selected as the 2011 PAEMST awardee from Texas from the three finalists forwarded to the national committee. To review other past awardees, please see For current finalist, please visit our list of PAEMST finalists.

Year K-6 7-12
2012 Wendy Hendry
Bransford Elementary
Colleyville, TX
2011   Dixie Ross
Pflugerville High School
Pflugerville, TX
2010 Elizabeth Hudgins
Eanes Elementary
Austin, TX
2009   Mallory Zimmerman
Uvalde Junior High School
Uvalde, TX
2008 Barbara Kelley
Cannon Elementary School
Grapevine, TX
2007   Toni Norrell
Calallen High School
Corpus Christi, TX
2006 Kristine Botterman
Cross Timbers Middle School
Grapevince, TX
2005   Lyneille Meza
Strickland Middle School
Denton, TX
2004 Kathy Skinner
Samuel Beck Elementary School
Trophy Club, TX
2003   Nancy Arroyo
Riverside High School
El Paso, TX
2002   Veronica Meeks
Western Hills High Schools
Forth Worth, TX
2001 Ellen Alexander
Barbara Bush Elementary
Grand Prairie, TX
Kristine Smith
Weatherford High School
Weatherford, TX
2000 Teresa Greene
Christie Elementary
Plano, TX
Margaret Saigling
Armstrong Middle School
Plano, TX
1999 Kathryn Tipton
Mountainview Elementary
Waco, TX
Linda Gann
Sandra Day O'Connor High School
Helotes, TX
1998 Valerie Johse
C.J. Harris Elementary
Pearland, TX
Henri Feaster
Edward S. Marcus High School
Flower Mound, TX
1997 Elizabeth Heinroth
Travis Elementary, San Marcos CISD
San Marcos, TX
Mary Owings
Deer Park Jr. High School
Deer Park, TX
1996 Judy Bishop
Saint Mary's Hall
San Antonio, TX
Diane Reed
Hanks High School, Ysleta ISD
El Paso, TX
1995 Polly Haynes
Kyle Elementary School
Kyle, TX
Jimmie Rios
Kirkpatrick Middle School
Fort Worth, TX
1994 Mary Anne Melby
Bill J. Wilson
Houston, TX
Deborah Svedman
Wiggs Middle School
El Paso, TX
1993 Karen Hardin
Fleming Rees Elementary School
Houston, TX
Pamela Walker
Nacogdoches ISD
Nacogdoches, TX
1992 Michael Gralish
The Learning Box
Arlington, TX
Barbara Hall
Alief Elsik High School
Alief, TX
1991 Karen Lindig
Hillcrest Elementary School
Del Valle, TX
Kathleen Murrell
J. Frank Dobie High School
Houston, TX
1990 Wayne Gable
Langford Elementary School
Austin, TX
Diane McGowan
James Bowie High School
Austin, TX
1989   Diann Resnick
Bellaire High School
Bellaire, TX
1988   Laura Jean Niland
Douglas MacArthur High School
San Antonio, TX
1987   Susan Gail Blumenthal
Quail Valley Junior High Sch.
Missouri City, TX
1986   Peggy Egger
John Foster Dulles High School
Sugar Land, TX
1985   Judith T. Sutcliffe
St. Mark's School of Texas
Dallas, TX
1984   Marjorie Valentine
John Jay High School
San Antonio, TX
1983   Paul A. Foerster
Alamo Heights High School
San Antonio, TX